Past event

St Andrews Chamber Orchestra - £15, £11, £5 (Students and children)

Michael Downes and Bede Williams (conductors)

Boulanger: D'un matin de Printemps
Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments
Hellawell: Memorial Cairns
Weill: Symphony no. 2

St Andrews Chamber Orchestra, bringing together the best orchestral musicians in the University, returns with a concert of 20th century music. Lili Boulanger's joyous evocation of a spring morning and Igor Stravinsky's Symphonies of Wind Instruments pay tribute to the memory of Debussy, whilst Kurt Weill's symphonic response to a commission from sewing machine heiress Winnaretta Singer embraces an altogether more agitated state, the composer having fled Nazi Germany for France in the early 1930s. The concert also marks the appointment of Piers Hellawell as Honorary Professor of Composition at the Laidlaw Music Centre. His Memorial Cairns for string orchestra offers an aural reminiscence of the stone cairns of South Harris.