Past event

Scottish Chamber Orchestra: Altstaedt plays Shostakovich £16 (full price), £14 (senior citizens), £8 (disabled), £6 (U26), FREE (U18)

Overture, Coriolan (8')
Cello Concerto No 1 (28')
Symphony No 4 in C minor 'Tragic' (31')

NICOLAS ALTSTAEDT – Conductor / Cello

It is jaw-dropping to watch the skill and physicality of Nicolas Altstaedt switching between playing the toughest solo cello parts and directing the orchestra, then turning back to his cello to carry on, and doing it all so superbly. Shostakovich's spiky, brilliant concerto is a powerhouse work that makes the most of his dramatic side. It sounds spectacular but troubled, perhaps because beneath those notes lies a web of secret codes and references to Shostakovich's merciless oppressor, Joseph Stalin.

There is a heroism to it which finds echoes in Beethoven's theatrical Overture and Schubert's 'Tragic' Symphony. That title was well chosen... for the first 2 minutes at least: then it all gets considerably jollier!

Book tickets

Visit the Byre Theatre box office to book your tickets online.

Book tickets