Events

On the Practice of Film Criticism with Jean-Michel Frodon Free. Registration required.

On the Practice of Film Criticism with Jean-Michel Frodon

In this workshop on The Practice of Film Criticism we will combine viewing of a film and a discussion with renowned French film critic and essayist Jean-Michel Frodon.

Participants will be invited to see, in advance, a 52-minute film, Aller-Retour (2018), in which Frodon discusses the practice of film criticism with French director Benoit Jacquot (in French with English subtitles). We will make available the link on Saturday 24 April 2020, prior to the second part of the event, so that participants can view in their own time.

On Wednesday 29 April, we will convene for a 75-minute online meeting and discussion with Frodon. The event will be moderated by Dina Iordanova and the access information will be sent to you in advance. The discussion will take place at 1pm GMT. (Please take note of your own time zones respectively: 8am Chicago, 9am NYC, 2pm London, 3pm Paris, 9pm Shanghai, 10pm Tokyo).

This is a free event requiring registration and is limited to 50 participants for the live part (the link to the film will be made available to all interested parties). University faculty and students will have priority, and the rest will be registered on a first come, first served basis. To register, please send a note with your name and affiliation to Julia Lennon at jil@st-andrews.ac.uk, who will send information about the film and the online event details.

More information about this event

Share this event

X
X
X