Ancient ethics and contemporary challenges St Andrews and Sorbonne-Nouvelle

The start of this century has seen a greater interest in the contemporary application of ancient philosophical ethics, although the widespread emphasis on stoicism and the possibility of understanding stoic ethics in isolation from the rest of stoic philosophy remain controversial.

Our century has also seen increasing anxiety about, and a conscious desire to strive for, standards in politics and public discourse, particularly in areas where the ethical and the cognitive intersect (integrity, honesty, fairness, grounds for belief). This workshop will bring together experts on ancient philosophy, from a range of areas, to discuss how ancient ethics can inform our responses to 21st-century challenges.

Programme

9am to 10am BST / 10am to 11am France
Angelo Giavatto
‘Achilles and Odysseus. Two ways of Rethinking Mortality in Ancient Ethics'

10am to 11am BST / 11am to 12 France
Lucia Saudelli
‘Knowledge, Virtue and Health in Plato's Charmides: Ancient ethics and Contemporary issues'

Lunch break

1.30pm to 2.30pm BST / 2.30pm to 3.30pm France
Jason Carter
‘No One is Deceived Willingly: Plato on the Ethics of Moral Disagreement'

Short break

3pm to 4pm BST / 4pm to 5pm France
Carol Atack
‘The anachronistic gentleman: the persistence of inequalities in the ancient moral exemplar of the kaloskagathos'

4pm BST / 5pm France
Concluding reflections, led by M M McCabe

All welcome. If you wish to participate, please email the organisers, Dr Jordi Pia Comella and Dr Alex Long, at agl10@st-andrews.ac.uk by Thursday 30 September.

X
X
X